Posted by: brandoncbethke | July 18, 2011

Alter-G Treadmills and Egg Shaped Tracks

 

AlterG Treadmill The Running Institute Ann Arbor, MI

AlterG Treadmill Moved to New Location

The Running Institute’s Alter-G Antigravity Treadmill has been moved to our new location at 5700 Jackson Road Ann Arbor, MI 48103. As of a few days ago our treadmill has been up and running, so come in to see what it is like to run/walk with 20% of your body weight, it is an experience you will not soon forget.

On a European note, since my last race in Dublin I have been learning to enjoy everything that comes along with living in another country. Buying groceries that are listed in another language, walking to do laundry, and running on the most oddly shaped track are just a few of them. Currently, I am posted up at the Guesthouse Dorms of the University here in Leuven, Belgium. I am here along with Will Leer, Lee Emanuel, and many other Americans who are racing the European circuit this summer. It has been an fun adventure filled with new experiences.

One of the things that sticks out in my mind the most is the shape of the track that we have been working out on since arriving in Leuven. The picture below does not do the shape justice. If you look closely you can notice that the turns are about 170 meters with 30 meter straightaways. It is a big change compared to the 100m/100m dimensions of the Ferry Field track at the University of Michigan. Running a workout last week was one of the more interesting feelings I have had running on a track. It felt normal but different and easy but hard all at the same time. I kept on wanting to run straight, but instead I had to run the really long turns. It was a unique experience that I will get to do again in my workout this afternoon. My workout is a tune-up for the next race on my schedule, the 3,000m run in Lucern, Switzerland this Thursday.

Leave a Reply

Categories

